Hahaha! No…

Today was a 5RM back squat, but as T-Rex put it, not with the intent of dumping the last set or making it look like “death on a stick” (his words, not mine, although I may be paraphrasing; he said something about death) coming out of the hole. The thinking is that we are going to be doing this 12-week strength progression on squatting and are supposed to add 5# per week (LOL), so this being the first week, it isn’t supposed to be an all-out effort. Which it wasn’t:

-45×5
-115×5
-125×5
-135×5
-145×5
-155×5

That’s exactly normal and the last set wasn’t all that bad. T-Rex wants speed in the middle section coming out of the bottom when the rebound effect of down-and-up no longer is helping, and it was good advice.

Finished with this chipper:

-50 KB snatch (25 per hand at 24kg/16kg)
-50 ABMAT sit-ups
-50 pull-ups
-50 front-racked KB lunges (25 per leg 24kg/16kg)

16-minute time cap

Finished in 13:04. So the title of this post refers to the pull-ups. I started doing them Rx’d and couldn’t string, so was doing them one at a time starting with the fifth rep. At that point, I went to ring rows because 50 wasn’t going to happen, and although I DNF a lot, it’s not the best practice ever and I need to stop going into every WoD thinking that I’m going to DNF, when, if I scale properly, I don’t have to. And it was still bloody hard with ring rows; I was doing them 3 at a time towards the end. Also, for some strange reason, the KB snatch comes really easily to me, and I was the first one done on those.

What went well: The back squat was solid, not stellar, but solid. The KB snatch went well, unbroken and not particularly difficult, as were the sit-ups.

What needs improvement: Kipping pull-ups.

Leave a comment