Ben Bergeron is trying to kill me.

Yesterday was Day 2 of #builtbybergeron, this time was four things:

1.) Hang squat cleans from mid-thigh(ish):
-60% x 4 = 95#
-65% x 4 = 100#
-70% x 4 x 3 = 110#

This went fairly well: light enough weight to be able to focus on form.

2.) Clean pull from hang or mid-thigh-ish:
-70% x 5 = 110#
-75% x 5 = 115#
-80% x 5 x 3 = 125#

Again, pretty good.

3.) Front squat:
-77% x 5 = 135#
-83% x 1 = 145#
-77% x 5 = 135#
-85% x 1 = 150#
-77% x 5 = 135#
-87% x 1 = 155#

I’ve never done this rep scheme before and it was sucktacular, like very, very hard. I did it. I didn’t dump, but it was a close run thing.

4.) Metcon: 13-minute AMRAP:
-55 cal row
-55 thrusters 65#
-55 pull-ups
-55 HSPU

This went about as I expected, did well on the row and then was doing the thrusters in sets of 5. As one might imagine, by the time I got to the pull-up bar, I had something like 75 – 90 seconds left, so I only got 6 pull-ups, which means a score of 116. Good, is what I’m supposed to say: gives me something else to get better at.

In any event, everything is sore today. My midsection is completely wrecked from the 90 GHDs after not doing them for about a year, like it hurts to sneeze. My quads are destroyed. It hurts to flex or extend my arms. Also, I may not be eating enough to compensate for the increase in volume. I’m still eating like I’m doing a light day, which this^^^ definitely is not. I purchased and downloaded the new RP cutting templates, so we’ll see how that goes. Back tomorrow though.

Leave a Reply

