Good News and Bad News

The good news today is that I got my fifth dead hang pull-up! Yay! My secret is greasing the groove at home. Lately, when I think about it, at the top of the hour every hour I do as many pull-ups as I can on my cheesy little doorway pull-up bar. It’s a laughable device really, but five dead hangs! Who’s laffing now?

At the gym, I did my overhead squats, 5×5, which was 65-75-75-80-80. I have hit and miss days on these. I suppose I should switch up the rep scheme, but I find that I get better as I go, so by the time I’m on my third round, my form is pretty damn good.

The bad news is that my re-attempt at the Billy Goat Jump was fairly horrible. That’s a CFI WOD:

21-18-15-12-9-6-3 of:
-SDLHP (I use a one-pood kettle bell)
-Box jump (20″)
-Dips (I do bench dips)

Part of the problem is that my legs were tired from overhead squats, from jumping rope, and from front squats the other day. The other problem is that I missed, like, the seventh jump on my very first set, which is both embarrassing and painful. So that sort of threw me off for the rest of the WOD. I made it in 11:52 which is a mere three seconds faster than when I did it two months ago. Then afterward I felt terrible too, my chest hurt and I started coughing. Please God let me not be getting sick…

2 Responses to “Good News and Bad News”

  1. Congrats on the 5th dead-hang. Luke mentioned that he does pull-ups whenever he pees. I thought that was a pretty decent way to make sure they get done. But don’t knock those cheesy door bars.

    Hope you feel better.

    • coughingsparks Says:

      Thanks. I think it was just a little bit of allergies. I feel a lot better today. In terms of greasing the groove, the only thing that I wish I had also was a dip station at home.

Leave a comment